SuddenStay

The Emily Hotel

$$No destination feeValet $82/nightCheck-in age 21Rooftop cinema clubPets $100

SuddenStay may earn a commission when you book through our links, at no extra cost to you. We only make money if you find a deal worth booking. How we make money

See tonight's live price.Straight to the current rate, so you can judge the deal for yourself.

Check current price →
The Emily Hotel, photo 1

Photos: Photo: rollingnet, CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Our take

By Matt Spaulding, Founder and writer

The Emily is on Morgan Street, a five-minute walk from Fulton Market at Randolph and Morgan, with a Rooftop Cinema Club up top and Fora and Sushi by Bou in the building. Its booking screen added nothing but Chicago's taxes to the room, so there is no destination fee. Against Nobu, that saves $29.73 a night. Valet is $82 a night, before any tax the hotel may add. At check-in the hotel places a $150-a-night authorization on your card for incidentals, worded to apply to every guest. It drops off after three to five business days if you charge nothing, but on a three-night stay that is $450 held. Wi-Fi is free. Pets are welcome for a $100 nonrefundable fee, and you must be 21 to check in. When guests complain about the rooms, it is usually the trains and loud air-conditioning units, and the rooms read plainer than the lobby suggests. A lot of what is written online about the building predates its current name, so older complaints may not fit.

Quick facts

Resort or destination fee
None on the booking screen
Parking
Valet $82/night; hourly valet offered, amounts not listed; tax status not stated
Incidentals hold
$150/night authorization at check-in, not a fee; released 3 to 5 business days after if unused
Check-in
3:00 PM; 21 or older with valid ID
Check-out
11:00 AM
Pets
Welcome; $100 nonrefundable, per stay or per night not stated; waiver at check-in
Wi-Fi
Free
Fitness center
24 hours
Rooftop
Rooftop Cinema Club

Where you are

311 N Morgan St, Chicago, IL

Open in Maps →

Walk 5 minutes from 311 N Morgan St and you are at Fulton Market at Randolph and Morgan. The hotel lists no shuttle, so getting to McCormick Place means the train or a ride.

Still thinking about it?

Last-minute rates move fast, and the smaller places sell out first. Check the live price and judge the deal for yourself.

Check tonight's price →

The Emily Hotel FAQ

Does The Emily Hotel charge a destination fee?

No. Its booking screen for a December night showed the room and Chicago's taxes, nothing else.

How much is parking at The Emily Hotel?

Valet is $82 a night, near the front entrance at 311 N. Morgan St., and the hotel does not say whether tax is added. Hourly valet rates exist, but the hotel does not list the amounts.

What is the $150 hold at The Emily Hotel?

An authorization at check-in for incidentals, $150 a night as the hotel words it, for every guest. It is a hold, not a fee, and it falls off after three to five business days if you charge nothing.

Does The Emily Hotel allow pets?

Yes. You sign a waiver at check-in and pay a $100 nonrefundable fee. The hotel's page does not say whether that is per stay or per night.

What time is check-in at The Emily Hotel, and how old do I have to be?

Check-in is 3 PM and check-out is 11 AM. Guests must be 21 or older with valid identification to check in.

Is The Emily Hotel noisy?

It can be. Trains and loud air-conditioning units are the most common complaint, so ask for a quiet room when you book.