The American Hotel Atlanta Downtown, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
SuddenStay may earn a commission when you book through our links, at no extra cost to you. We only make money if you find a deal worth booking. How we make money
See tonight's live price.Straight to the current rate, so you can judge the deal for yourself.
Check current price →
Photos: Photo: Marc Merlin, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Our take
By Matt Spaulding, Founder and writer
A DoubleTree until its renovation and conversion, The American Hotel is now in Hilton's Tapestry Collection, and the work was finished by the time HEI Hotels & Resorts added it to its portfolio in June 2024. It has 315 rooms and an outdoor pool. The bar is Social62. Valet is the only parking, listed at $60 on Hilton's hotel page with no unit given. Hilton's booking screen for November 17, 2026 showed no mandatory charge, and the 16.9% room tax and Georgia's $5 a night come on top of the price it shows. So does the $60 for valet. Parking is underground, and reviews say the entrance is small and awkward to find from the street corner, which makes a first arrival by car the hardest part of the stay. Peachtree Center station is 307 meters off, about 4 minutes on foot. Pets up to 25 pounds come with a $150 non-refundable fee. Rooms are usually described as clean and spacious, though some reports say rooms and bedding aren't refreshed regularly. Some rooms have weak shower pressure, and you pay for coffee.
Quick facts
- Resort fee
- None on the booking screen
- Parking
- Valet only: $60, unit not stated; self-parking not available; tax not stated
- Room tax
- 8% hotel plus 8.9% sales on the room, plus Georgia's $5 a night state fee
- Check-in
- 4:00 PM
- Check-out
- 11:00 AM
- Pets
- Allowed, up to 25 lbs; $150 non-refundable fee
- Pool
- Outdoor pool
- Rooms
- 315 rooms; formerly a DoubleTree
- Walk to MARTA
- 4 minutes (307 meters) to Peachtree Center station
Where you are
160 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA
Open in Maps →At 160 Ted Turner Drive NW, a 4-minute walk (307 meters) to the Peachtree Center MARTA station.
Still thinking about it?
Last-minute rates move fast, and the smaller places sell out first. Check the live price and judge the deal for yourself.
Check tonight's price →The American Hotel Atlanta Downtown, Tapestry Collection by Hilton FAQ
Does The American Hotel Atlanta Downtown charge a resort or destination fee?
No. Hilton's booking screen for November 17, 2026 showed no mandatory charge line. Georgia's $5 a night state fee is a tax, not a hotel charge.
How much is parking at The American Hotel Atlanta Downtown?
$60 for valet, the only option. Self-parking is not available, per Hilton's hotel page, which doesn't say whether the $60 is per day or per night, or whether tax is added.
Was The American Hotel Atlanta Downtown a DoubleTree?
Yes. It was a DoubleTree before its renovation and conversion to Tapestry Collection by Hilton, which was finished by the time HEI Hotels & Resorts added it to its portfolio in June 2024.
Does The American Hotel Atlanta Downtown have a pool?
Yes, an outdoor pool. The hotel also has a fitness center, a restaurant and a bar called Social62.
What are check-in and check-out times at The American Hotel Atlanta Downtown?
4 PM and 11 AM.
Does The American Hotel Atlanta Downtown allow pets?
Yes, up to 25 pounds, with a $150 non-refundable fee.
Featured in our guides
- Celebration Bowl 2026 Hotels for Band of the Year Night and the Noon KickoffOn 29 October, 14 of the 17 downtown hotels we read sold Saturday 12 December alone. Embassy Suites needed Friday too, and Signia and the Hilton Garden Inn refused it.Read the guide →
- SEC Championship 2026 Hotels: Downtown on Foot or Midtown and Buckhead by MARTAOn 29 October, 9 of the 19 downtown hotels we read sold Saturday 5 December as one night. All 8 in Midtown and Buckhead did.Read the guide →